History & Archive

Scouting heritage

Follow this link to discover more about Scouting’s fascinating heritage.

Group, District and County

Scouts first met at Cuffley in 1927. During this early existence they went on a cruise to Holland with the County Commissioner for Hertfordshire, Sir Percy Everett.  The First Cuffley Group fully formed in 1929 and registered with the National Scout Association in 1931 when it formally became part of Hertfordshire Scout County. This link leads to a historical summary for Hertfordshire Scout County presented by Frank Brittain our county archivist. In 1964, our Group cemented its place in the County through being part of the newly constituted Potters Bar and District Scouts. This link leads to a historical timeline summary for our District. 

Our Headquarters

From 1930 the 1st Cuffley Scout Group held meetings in a hut located on land to the left of a footpath leading from Plough Hill. This site was leased from St Andrews Church and in April 1964, to make way for a new and expanded church building, the Group moved up the hill to a custom built headquarters (HQ) located on land it purchased in the late 1950’s.

This short film, taken by the then Scout Leader Alan Gill and edited more recently by his son David, shows our land prior to the main HQ building.

The following footage, also taken by Alan, captures our Group’s activities and supporters on the opening day…

This film, edited by another long serving Group leader John Parkes, reports the opening ceremony:

 

Twenty two years later, in 1986, the Cuffley Scout HQ was named the Lionel Gill HQ. This was in memory of Skipper Gill (Alan Gill’s father) who led the 1st Cuffley for many years as Group Scout Leader (GSL).  Skipper Gill was instrumental in securing our HQ land and the building.

Cuffley Scout Group HQ

A commemorative plaque was unveiled by his wife, Ruth Gill at a ceremony presided over by Ken Stroud (GSL), Jum Thomas, (former GSL) and Don Munns (Executive Chairman). 

This HQ main hut is a much appreciated meeting place that has been in continual use since 1964.  It is actively used by our Beavers, Cubs, Scouts and Explorers, It is also used by the 1st Cuffley Brownie and Girl Guides.

Thank you to both the Gill and Parkes families for giving us free access to the historic films linked to this page.

 

Had a good time at the 1st Cuffley?

Please donate to our funding to help us to continue to deliver Scouting skills for life.

Thank you!